As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. How this site is paid

Cordless tools · Which one do I need

DEWALT 20V MAX, FLEXVOLT and 60V MAX: which batteries fit which tools

You own DEWALT 20V MAX tools and you are looking at a 60V MAX tool or a FLEXVOLT battery. Will they work together? This page sets out exactly what DEWALT's own FLEXVOLT page says, what it leaves unsaid, and what the voltage labels on DEWALT batteries mean, so you can check a purchase before you make it.

On this page

What we compared and why

  1. The maker's own compatibility statement. Battery fit is the maker's call. We quote what DEWALT states and mark what it does not state, rather than filling the gap from forums.
  2. The voltage label. DEWALT's 20, 60 and 120 volt labels are maximum figures; DEWALT gives the nominal figures in a footnote. Knowing which is which avoids a wrong comparison.
  3. The tool you are adding. Whether a battery fits depends on the tool line it goes into, 20V MAX or 60V MAX.

What DEWALT states

DEWALT's FLEXVOLT page makes three statements that answer most questions:

  1. FLEXVOLT batteries power both DEWALT 20V MAX and 60V MAX tools, using what DEWALT calls patented technology that switches voltage automatically when you change tools.
  2. FLEXVOLT batteries are compatible with DEWALT 20V MAX power tools; DEWALT suggests pairing them with 20V MAX tools for more runtime.
  3. 60V MAX tools are presented as running on FLEXVOLT batteries.

The page lists FLEXVOLT batteries at 6, 9, 12 and 15 Ah (models DCB606, DCB609, DCB612 and DCB615), each labelled "20V/60V MAX".

What DEWALT's page does not state

The FLEXVOLT page does not describe an ordinary 20V MAX battery running a 60V MAX tool. Read that as: do not plan on it. If you want to run a 60V MAX tool, plan on a FLEXVOLT battery, and check the tool's own page for the batteries DEWALT lists for it.

The fit table

Battery you own 20V MAX tool 60V MAX tool
20V MAX battery Yes, the line it is made for Not described by DEWALT; plan on a FLEXVOLT battery
FLEXVOLT 20V/60V MAX battery Yes, per DEWALT Yes, per DEWALT

The practical consequence: a FLEXVOLT battery is the one DEWALT battery that covers both lines. If you own 20V MAX tools and expect to add a 60V MAX tool, buying FLEXVOLT for your next battery means it serves both. If you will never own a 60V MAX tool, a FLEXVOLT battery still runs your 20V MAX tools, and DEWALT pitches it there for runtime; the trade-off to check on the battery's own page is its size and weight against an ordinary 20V MAX pack.

What 20V, 60V and 120V MAX mean

DEWALT's footnote on the FLEXVOLT page explains the labels:

Label What DEWALT says it is Nominal voltage DEWALT gives
20V MAX Maximum initial battery voltage, measured without a workload 18 V
60V MAX Maximum initial battery voltage, measured without a workload 54 V
120V MAX Two 60V MAX batteries used together 108 V

Two things follow. First, a "20V MAX" battery and another maker's "18V" battery are the same class of battery described two ways; see DEWALT 20V MAX vs Milwaukee M18. Second, 120V MAX is not a battery you buy: it is what DEWALT calls a tool that takes two 60V MAX batteries at once.

A three-question check before you buy

  1. Which line is the tool? Read the tool's name on DEWALT's page: 20V MAX, 60V MAX or 120V MAX (two batteries).
  2. What batteries do you own? Look at the label on each pack: "20V MAX" or "20V/60V MAX FLEXVOLT".
  3. Does the fit table say Yes? If not, budget for a FLEXVOLT battery with the tool, or choose the tool's 20V MAX version if one exists.

Where this fits

For a platform choice between makers, start with cordless tool platforms compared. For reading Ah, voltage and other figures on any cordless tool page, see how to read a cordless tool spec sheet.

What this page does not tell you

We have not used these batteries and make no claim about runtime, which depends on the tool and the job. Compatibility statements can change as DEWALT releases new products; DEWALT's own pages are the authority, and this page quotes them as they read when it was built.

Sources