Carpet and hard-floor cleaners · Comparison
Full-size carpet cleaners compared: tank, heater, hose and self-cleaning
You want to wash whole rooms of carpet at home rather than rent a machine. Which current carpet cleaner fits the job? This page compares four models on four things that change a cleaning session: how much water one fill holds, whether the machine heats water, how far the hose and cord reach, and what the maker calls self-cleaning.
Quick picks
Who each model fits, judged on this page's criteria. Full figures and the reasons to skip each one are further down.
We earn a commission if you buy through the Amazon links on this page, at no extra cost to you. Commissions never decide which products are listed or how they are described.
-
Open carpeted rooms where you want the larger tank in this table and are happy to fill it with warm tap water, since BISSELL says this model does not heat water itself.
- Tank stated 80 oz*
- Heat named No*
- Cord stated 20 ft*
-
The same tank and cord as the 3952 plus a hose and hand tools, so it suits homes with carpeted stairs or upholstery as well as open rooms.
- Tank stated 80 oz*
- Self-cleaning named Yes
- Hose stated 7.0 ft*
-
You want the longest stated hose in this table for stairs and upholstery from a full-size upright.
- Hose stated 8.0 ft
-
The only model here whose maker names water heating, with a hose rinse DREAME names, for spot work, stairs and small rooms.
- Tank stated 41 oz*
- Heat named Yes*
- Self-cleaning named Yes*
On this page
What we compared and why
- Clean-water tank. Every refill is a walk to the sink and back. We show the clean-tank figure the maker states, converted to ounces; a larger tank means fewer refills per room, which matters most if you clean several rooms in one session.
- Water heating. Some machines heat the water themselves; others ask you to fill with warm tap water. We mark 'Yes' only where the maker or listing names heating, and 'No' where the maker says the machine does not heat water.
- Hose length. A hose and hand tool is how you reach stairs, upholstery and car seats. A longer hose lets the machine stay at the foot of the stairs while you work a few steps up.
- Cord length. A longer cord means fewer outlet changes in a large room or a long hallway.
- Self-cleaning, and of what. Makers use 'self-cleaning' for different things: a rinse of the whole brush path, a rinse of the hose, or a hand tool. We note which one each maker means where its page says.
The models compared
| Model | Tank stated | Heat named | Self-cleaning named | Hose stated | Cord stated | Amazon link |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| BISSELL TurboClean (3952) | 80 oz* | No* | Not stated in listing | Not stated in listing | 20 ft* | See on Amazon |
| BISSELL TurboClean Pet (3948) | 80 oz* | Not stated in listing | Yes | 7.0 ft* | 20 ft* | See on Amazon |
| Hoover SmartWash+ (FH52000) | Not stated in listing | Not stated in listing | Not stated in listing | 8.0 ft | Not stated in listing | See on Amazon |
| DREAME N20 Steam (HNR27A) | 41 oz* | Yes* | Yes* | 4.9 ft* | 15 ft* | See on Amazon |
Table values are read from each product's current Amazon listing at the time of this page's build and normalised to one unit by us. "Not stated in listing" means the listing does not give the figure; "Listing gives two values" means the listing states it two different ways, so we show neither. Values marked * come from the maker's own spec page, linked under Sources.

BISSELL TurboClean (3952)
Who it fits: Open carpeted rooms where you want the larger tank in this table and are happy to fill it with warm tap water, since BISSELL says this model does not heat water itself.
Skip it if: You want the machine to heat the water, or you need a hose for stairs; BISSELL's page for this model names no hose.

BISSELL TurboClean Pet (3948)
Who it fits: The same tank and cord as the 3952 plus a hose and hand tools, so it suits homes with carpeted stairs or upholstery as well as open rooms.
Skip it if: You expect 'self-cleaning' to mean a machine rinse cycle; BISSELL attaches the word to a hand tool and a stain brush on this model.

Hoover SmartWash+ (FH52000)
Who it fits: You want the longest stated hose in this table for stairs and upholstery from a full-size upright.
Skip it if: You need confirmed tank, cord and heating figures for this exact model number before you buy; the listing gives only the hose.

DREAME N20 Steam (HNR27A)
Who it fits: The only model here whose maker names water heating, with a hose rinse DREAME names, for spot work, stairs and small rooms.
Skip it if: Your main job is whole rooms; its tank is about half the BISSELL tanks in this table, and it is a portable unit rather than an upright.
How to read the table
The table comes from the current listings and the makers' own spec pages, not from using the machines. A figure with a mark comes from the maker's page for that model, linked under Sources. BISSELL and DREAME state their tanks in litres; we converted them to ounces and rounded to the nearest ounce. A cell that says "Not stated in listing" means neither the listing nor a maker page we could match to that exact model number gives the figure. We would rather show a blank than borrow a figure from a sibling model.
One of the four rows is thin for that reason. Hoover's own site shows the SmartWash+ under model FH52000V, not the model number sold in this listing. That page describes HeatForce, which Hoover ties to faster drying rather than to heating the wash water. We did not copy its spec table onto this row because the model numbers differ; the model number on the box and the manual are where to confirm its tank and cord.
Refills: the arithmetic
The two BISSELL TurboClean models state the same clean tank, 80 ounces, which is a little over half a gallon. The DREAME N20 holds 41 ounces, about half of that. Put plainly: a room that takes two full BISSELL tanks takes about four DREAME tanks. If you clean one room at a time, that difference is small. If you clean a whole floor in one session, it is the number of trips to the sink.
Heat: who heats and who does not
Only the DREAME N20 names water heating, and DREAME's page gives it hot-water and steam modes. BISSELL's 3952 page says plainly that the machine does not heat water and that you fill it with warm tap water instead. For the 3948 and the Hoover, the table shows "Not stated" for heating; read Hoover's HeatForce as a drying feature, not a heater for the wash water.
Hose and cord: stairs and long rooms
If you have carpeted stairs, look at the hose column before the tank column. The Hoover SmartWash+ lists the longest hose here, 8 feet. BISSELL states 7 feet for the 3948. The DREAME's hose is shorter, at 4.9 feet, but the DREAME is a portable unit you can set on a step. BISSELL's page for the 3952 names no hose or hand tool, although its surface list includes stairs; treat it as a machine for floors and the treads you can roll it over, unless the box says otherwise.
Cord length matters in long rooms and hallways. The BISSELL models state 20 feet and the DREAME about 15 feet, converted from DREAME's metric figure.
What "self-cleaning" means on each page
The word does not mean the same thing across these makers. DREAME says its N20 rinses the hose, and only in its wash modes. BISSELL's 3948 page uses "self-cleaning" for a hand tool and a stain brush, not for a rinse of the whole machine; BISSELL also tells owners to run clean water through after cleaning. If a machine rinse cycle is what you want, confirm on the maker's page what the feature cleans before relying on the table's "Yes".
Which one if...
- You clean whole rooms in one go and have no stairs: the BISSELL 3952, for the larger tank, if warm tap water is fine for you.
- You clean whole rooms and also stairs or a sofa: the BISSELL 3948, the same tank with a stated hose.
- You want heated water and mostly spot or step work: the DREAME N20, accepting more refills.
- Stairs and upholstery come first: the Hoover SmartWash+, for the longest stated hose here; confirm its tank and cord for the exact model number first.
For pet accidents, where a small portable machine often matters more than tank size, see the pet accidents guide. If you are not sure a carpet cleaner is the right kind of machine at all, start with which floor cleaner you need.
What this page does not tell you
We have not used these machines, and we do not rank them. We do not say how clean any of them gets a carpet or how long carpet takes to dry, because those depend on the carpet, the formula and how you use the machine. Formula choice is a question for each maker's manual. Weight is left out because the listing weights for this category have been unreliable.